Character development

This is something I’ve been trying to work on of late.  I felt the characters in my first book weren’t that strong, so I’m spending a lot more time developing individual characters before I start my next project.  I’m working on a different animal every day and trying to give each one a different personality. Today’s effort was squirrels!

squirrels

I find it quite challenging getting the shapes just right, so I’ve started doing a lot more warm up sketching and then I take them into illustrator to finish the drawing then photoshop to add colour.  I think they’ve come out okay, but are still a bit flat for my liking. I want to do some hand painted ones and see how they come out, so will keep you posted.  Oh and check out the next one, I got a bit sentimental!

squirrellove

Leave a Reply

